November 07 - 08, 2019
Location: Nairobi
Country: Kenya

The ISO TC285 meeting will be hosted at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya. If you are interested in attending, please contact the national standards organization in your country. A list of national standards organizations can be found here.

Important information is provided below. For more logistical information regarding the meeting venue, travel support, local transportation, and more, click on the attached PDF file at the bottom of the page. 

Arrival and Check-in:

Arrival and check-in of registered participants for the meeting will begin Thursday November 7, 2019 from 8:00-9:00 am. The meeting will start promptly at 9:00am. The meeting will end no later than 12:00 pm (noon) on Friday November 8, 2019.


Travel Support: 

In the framework of the ISO Action Plan for developing countries 2016-2020, ISO provides funded travel assistance to support the participation of its developing country members in the technical work of ISO.

ISO developing country members are eligible to attend meetings of ISO technical committees (TC) or subcommittees (SC) or working groups (WG) linked to their national priorities. The sponsorship entitles travel assistance to three meetings in a given calendar year and covers the cost of flights, hotel accommodation and other travel-related expenses
for the chosen participant.

ISO developing country members may request sponsorship at any time during the year by email to 

Note: It is advisable to make a request as early as possible, at least two months before the intended meeting to give the participant the time


Visa Requirements 

Travelers to Kenya should ensure that the validity of their passports is at least six months beyond the end of their intended stay.

Kenyan immigration authorities require a minimum of two blank (unstamped) visa pages in the passport to enter the country; some travelers have experienced difficulties when they arrive without the requisite blank pages.

Visa-exempt foreign nationals: Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cyprus, Dominica, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Jamaica, Kiribati, Lesotho Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Namibia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, Saint Vincent & Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Salomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Nationalities NOT eligible for online e-Visa: nationals of these countries must obtain their visa in embassy: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, Eritrea, Iraq, North Korea, Kosovo, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Palestine, Senegal, Somalia, Syria, Tajikistan and Yemen.

Nationalities subject to visa and eligible for e-Visa online: citizens of all other nationalities can obtain their visa online (e-Visa), in embassies, or on arrival.

Yellow Fever Vaccination

Requirements: Evidence of a Yellow Fever vaccination is required if traveling from a country with risk of Yellow Fever Virus transmission (full country list can be found here).

Recommendations: Evidence of yellow fever vaccination may be requested, and some travelers have been turned around at immigration for not having sufficient proof of immunization. Vaccination should be given 10 days before travel and at 10-year intervals if there is on-going risk.